Congrats, Rumiko Takahashi, For The Eisner Hall Of Famer Win

History has been made in one of the world’s most prestigious comic book awards ceremony. During the Eisner Awards nomination and winners ceremony, the Hall of Famer segment has announced its first-ever female mangaka artist to be in this prestigious category.

That artist is Rumiko Takahashi. You may remember her as the woman who created Maison Ikkokku, Ranma 1/2, Inu Yasha, and Urusei Yatsura. Other manga creators in the Hall of Fame include Osamu Tezuka, Katsuhiro Otomo and Takahashi’s early teacher, Kazuo Koike.

As a big Rumiko Takahashi fan since the 90s, I’m just glad that her landmark work finally received the recognition it deserved, at least from the many Western supporters and the Eisner Awards. She’s obviously been recognized outside of the Eisners, but this is definitely a big win for her and for all manga-creationkind.

In related news, there were a few other notable winners in the Hall of Famer list: Carol Kalish, Jackie Ormes, Charles Addams, Karen Berger, and Dave Gibbons; all of them well-deserved. We’ve also listed down the full list of Eisner Award 2018 winners below in case you need to know what’s good to pick up and read this year.

Best Short Story— “A Life in Comics: The Graphic Adventures of Karen Green,” by Nick Sousanis, in Columbia Magazine (Summer 2017)

Best Single Issue/One-ShotHellboy: Krampusnacht, by Mike Mignola and Adam Hughes (Dark Horse)

Best Continuing SeriesMonstress, by Marjorie Liu and Sana Takeda (Image)

Best Limited SeriesBlack Panther: World of Wakanda, by Roxane Gay, Ta-Nehisi Coates, and Alitha E. Martinez (Marvel)

Best New Series—Black Bolt, by Saladin Ahmed and Christian Ward (Marvel)

Best Publication for Early Readers (up to age 8)Good Night, Planet, by Liniers (Toon Books)

Best Publication for Kids (ages 9–12)The Tea Dragon Society, by Katie O’Neill (Oni)

Best Publication for Teens (ages 13-17)Monstress, by Marjorie Liu and Sana Takeda (Image)

Best Humor PublicationBaking with Kafka, by Tom Gauld (Drawn & Quarterly)

Best AnthologyElements: Fire, A Comic Anthology by Creators of Color, edited by Taneka Stotts (Beyond Press)

Best Reality-Based Work—Spinning, by Tillie Walden (First Second)

Best Graphic Album—NewMy Favorite Thing Is Monsters, by Emil Ferris (Fantagraphics)

Best Graphic Album—ReprintBoundless, by Jillian Tamaki (Drawn & Quarterly)

Best Adaptation from Another MediumKindred, by Octavia Butler, adapted by Damian Duffy and John Jennings (Abrams ComicArts)

Best U.S. Edition of International MaterialRun for It: Stories of Slaves Who Fought for the Freedom, by Marcelo D’Salete, translated by Andrea Rosenberg (Fantagraphics)

Best U.S. Edition of International Material—AsiaMy Brother’s Husband, vol. 1 , by Gengoroh Tagame, translated by Anne Ishii (Pantheon)

Best Archival Collection/Project—StripsCelebrating Snoopy, by Charles M. Shulz, edited by Alexis E. Fajardo and Dorothy O’Brien (Andrews McMeel)

Best Archival Collection/Project—Comic BooksAkira 35th Anniversary Edition, by Katsuhiro Otomo, edited by Haruko Hashimoto, Ajani Oloye, and Lauren Scanlan(Kodansha)

Best Writer—Tom King, BatmanBatman Annual #2Batman/Elmer Fudd Special #1Mister Miracle (DC) and Marjorie Liu, Monstress (Image)

Best Writer/Artist—Emil Ferris, My Favorite Thing Is Monsters (Fantagraphics)

Best Penciller/Inker or Penciller/Inker Team—Mitch Gerads, Mister Miracle(DC)

Best Painter/Multimedia Artist (interior art)—Sana Takeda, Monstress(Image)

Best Cover Artist—Sana Takeda, Monstress (Image)

Best Coloring—Emil Ferris, My Favorite Thing Is Monsters (Fantagraphics)

Best Lettering—Stan Sakai, Usagi YojimboGroo: Slay of the Gods (Dark Horse)

Best Comics-Related Periodical/Journalism—The Comics Journal, edited by Dan Nadel, Timothy Hodler, and Tucker Stone, (Fantagraphics)

Best Comics-Related BookHow to Read Nancy: The Elements of Comics in Three Easy Panels, by Paul Karasik and Mark Newgarden (Fantagraphics)

Best Academic/Scholarly WorkLatinx Superheroes in Mainstream Comics, by Frederick Luis Aldama (University of Arizona Press)

Best Publication DesignAkira 35th Anniversary Edition,designed by Phil Balsman, Akira Saito (Veia), NORMA Editorial, and MASH•ROOM (Kodansha)

Best Digital ComicHarvey Kurtzman’s Marley’s Ghost, by Harvey Kurtzman, Josh O’Neill, Shannon Wheeler, and Gideo Kendall (comiXology Originals/Kitchen, Lind & Associates)

Best WebcomicThe Tea Dragon Society, by Katie O’Neill (



Author: Mr Toffee

Mr Toffee is a writer, editor, & all-around video game words guy for 9 years, give or take. He also did some story for games like Chain Chronicle and some podcasting on the side. Likes: bacon, Metallica, jogging. Hates: raccoons, oblivion. Twitter: @MrToffee

1 thought on “Congrats, Rumiko Takahashi, For The Eisner Hall Of Famer Win

  1. Rumiko deserves this award! Great author! She is the most successful comic book author on the globe.

    I’m sad that other great artists have not been awarded. Ex: CLAMP, Riyoko Ikeda, Naoko Takeuchi.

Leave a Reply