As we reported earlier, the Call of Duty World League tournament will be changing into a franchise-based league starting in 2020. Activision has finally officially announced the new Call of Duty League and revealed the 12 participating teams’ location of origin.

The teams will come from:

  • Atlanta
  • Los Angeles (KSE)
  • Los Angeles (IGC)
  • Seattle
  • Chicago
  • Minnesota
  • Dallas
  • Paris
  • London
  • Florida
  • New York
  • Toronto

I find it to be a bit unfortunate that we don’t have any teams from Asia, unlike in the Overwatch League but I suppose it’s because the Call of Duty pro scene just isn’t that big in these parts. The tournament’s prize pool totals up to more than US$6 million.

The tournamet’s official description:

“The Call of Duty® League™ is a global, city-based esports league composed of 12 professional teams, representing 11 markets across North America and Europe. In its inaugural season, pro teams compete in 5-versus-5 Call of Duty®: Modern Warfare® multiplayer matches, exclusively on PlayStation®4.”

For more information on how the CoD League will function, read here. You can sign up for updates on the CoD League here. Stay tuned on Kakuchopurei for more news on the new tournament.


Leave a Reply