Hearthstone Grandmasters 2020 Kicks Off Tomorrow

The Hearthstone Grandmasters 2020 Season 1 will begin globally on Friday, 17 April 2020, and will run every Friday, Saturday and Sunday until 7 June 2020. Not only will the best Hearthstone players in the world be battling it out every weekend live on YouTube Gaming, but you can also catch the new Demon Hunter class in competitive play for the first time.

Seven new competitors have advanced to Grandmasters this season, introducing new
format changes to test our players more than ever. Check out the details below:

  • Venue: ONLINE
  • Dates: Every Friday, Saturday, and Sunday starting from 17 April 2020 to 7 June 2020
  • Broadcast Start Time: Broadcast days kick off with the Asia-Pacific region playing at 2am PDT on 17 April 2020 (or 5pm GMT+8 for Southeast Asian countries on the same day)
  • Casters:
    • AMERICAS: Dan ‘Frodan’ Chou and TJ ‘Azumo’ Sanders
    • ASIA-PACIFIC: Jia “Jia” Dee and Darroch “Darroch” Brown
    • EUROPE: Simon “Sottle” Welch and Alex “Raven” Baguley
  • Prize Pool: US$500,000 in prizing globally for Grandmasters Season 1
  • Language Streams on YouTube:

Format Changes

Hearthstone Grandmasters 2

Here’s a breakdown of how things will work in Hearthstone Grandmasters this year:

Weeks 1-3: Swiss into Group Stage

During weeks 1-3, players will compete in matches in a Swiss format on each Wednesday and Thursday to earn placement in the weekend Group Stage. Points from these weekend rounds will be used to determine two Divisions in each region for round-robin weeks.

The 16 players in each region will compete against each other off broadcast in 7 Swiss rounds during the week. On Thursday, after Swiss play has completed, the field is cut in half based on standings and the Top 8 per region will play in a dual tournament format live on YouTube across Friday and Saturday, with the top-4 finals played out on Sunday.

Gameplay format will change every week:

  • Week 1: Conquest with 1 Ban
  • Week 2: Four Deck Last Hero Standing with 1 Ban
  • Week 3: Ten Deck Conquest with 6 Bans

Weeks 4 – 7: Round Robin

Weeks 4 –7 will consist of round-robin group play within the two divisions in each region – much like the previous seasons of Grandmasters. Following weeks 1-3, players will be sorted into two divisions based on their points standings. Division A is comprised of the top-8 point-earning players, and Division B will be point total ranks 9-16.

The two divisions compete in round-robin group play over four weeks. The standings at the conclusion of these weeks will determine who will go on to compete in Playoffs, and who will be relegated from Season 1. The format will stay consistent during round-robin weeks, with Bo5 Conquest (4 decks, 1 ban)

Week 8: Season 1 Playoffs

Round-robin weeks lead into Week 8 Playoffs, which will qualify one player per region to the World Championship at the end of the year, while three players from each region will be relegated. Top 6 from Division A automatically make it into Playoffs, while the Top 4 from Division B compete in a play-in round to determine who will join the top 6 from Division A in a dual tournament bracket for Playoffs.

The 7th- and 8th-placed players in Division B at the close of round robin are automatically relegated from Season 1 of Grandmasters. Final relegation will be determined via a 3-match Play-In involving the 7th- and 8th-placed from
Division A, and 5th- and 6th-placed from Division B.

The winner of Playoffs from each region will qualify to the Hearthstone World Championships later this year.

Check out the list of Grandmasters Players below:


  • Brian “bloodyface” Eason
  • Eddie “Eddie” Lui
  • Guillermo “Empanizado” Tolosa
  • Fei “ETC” Liang
  • James “Firebat” Kostesich
  • Frank “Fr0zen” Zhang
  • Edward “Gallon” Goodwin
  • David “justsaiyan” Shan
  • Mihai “Lnguagehackr” Dragalin
  • Jerome “Monsanto” Faucher
  • Muzahidul “muzzy” Islam
  • Facundo “Nalguidan” Pruzzo
  • Jason “PapaJason” Meler
  • Francisco “PNC” Leimontas
  • Ryan “Purple” Murphy-Root
  • Paul “Zalae” Nemeth


  • Yashina “Alutemu” Nozomi
  • Ng “blitzchung” Wai Chung
  • Cheonsu “che0nsu” Kim
  • Hyun Jae “Dawn” Jang
  • Hyun-Soo “Flurry” Cho
  • Dylan “FroStee” O’Mallon
  • Sato “glory” Kenta
  • Tsz Kin “Kin0531” Lo
  • Wataru “posesi” Ishibashi
  • Dasol “Ryvius” Sim


Author: Alleef Ashaari

Aspiring writer. Born in Amsterdam, raised in Malaysia. Comics are my passion. A gamer and science fiction enthusiast. PSN: AlleefAshaari

Leave a Reply