Overwatch League Announces Changes To 2020 Playoffs

For the first time in its three-year history, the Overwatch League’s Grand Finals 2020 will be going online due to the ongoing COVID-19  pandemic. Today, Blizzard has provided more details on what to expect from the upcoming playoff format.

All 20 teams will have the opportunity to qualify for the postseason. Matches will be held online and will again be split between two divisions, with 13 teams playing in North America, and seven in Asia. Seeds and byes will be determined by regular-season standings and teams’ performances in three tournaments: the May Melee, the Summer Showdown, and the Countdown Cup.

Postseason play begins on 3 September 2020 with single-elimination play-in matches between the lowest seeds in the North America and Asia brackets.

Next, double-elimination play will start on 5 September 2020 between teams that win their play-in match. The remaining lower seeds will then compete with higher seeds in double-elimination tournaments in North America and Asia the following week. Champions of the winners’ and losers’ brackets in each region will advance to a final four Grand Finals tournament.

Those final four teams will compete in a double-elimination bracket, with two teams advancing to the Grand Finals to compete for the league championship. In order to have all four teams compete on the same server, the two North America teams will travel to Asia.

However, before the four finalists can face off against each other in the Grand Finals, the Overwatch League teams will take a few weeks off for health and safety needs, as well as to account for travel logistics. In the meantime, check out the trailer below.


Author: Alleef Ashaari

Aspiring writer. Born in Amsterdam, raised in Malaysia. Comics are my passion. A gamer and science fiction enthusiast. PSN: AlleefAshaari

Leave a Reply