Despite being cancelled earlier this year due to the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic, San Diego Comic-Con 2020 is going ahead in a different format. Comic-Con 2020 At Home is slated to take place later this week from 22 July to 26 July 2020. A virtual version of the biggest geek event in the world is better than nothing or having to wait for another entire year.

There are quite a number of impressive virtual panels scheduled for Comic-Con 2020 At Home all of which will be available on the official Comic-Con YouTube page. Check out some of the best ones worth looking out for during the entire online event:

The Star Trek Universe Virtual Panel

Comic-Con 2020 1

SDCC 2019 gave us official announcements for Star Trek Picard and Star Trek Discovery Season 3, amongst others. This year promises even more as the creative teams and casts behind Star Trek Discovery, Star Trek Picard and the upcoming animated series Star Trek Lower Decks assemble.

When: 23 July 2020 at 10am-11am PST (24 July 2020 at 1am-2am GMT+8)

Truth Seekers

Comic-Con 2020 2

Truth Seekers is an upcoming horror-comedy starring Shaun Of The Dead actors Simon Pegg and Nick Frost.

When: 23 July 2020 at 12pm-1pm PST (24 July 2020 at 3am-4am GMT+8)

A Look Inside Marvel’s 616 on Disney+

Comic-Con 2020 3

While Marvel Studios won’t be attending Comic-Con 2020 At Home, Disney Plus exclusive Marvel 616 will. It’s a new documentary series that explores “the intersections of storytelling, pop culture, and fandom within the Marvel Universe.” The panellists include directors Gillian Jacobs and Paul Scheer.

When: 23 July 2020 at 1pm-2pm PST (24 July 2020 at 4am-5am GMT+8)

Utopia

Utopia John Cusack and Cory Michael Smith

Utopia is a new Amazon show about a group of comic book readers who figure out that the events of a graphic novel are real and they can save the world from Gone Girl writer Gillian Flynn. It stars John Cusack, Rainn Wilson, Jessica Rothe, and Sasha Lane, all of whom will be on the panel.

When: 23 July 2020 at 1pm-2pm PST (24 July 2020 at 4am-5am GMT+8)

His Dark Materials Virtual Panel

His Dark Materials 1

The cast and crew of the HBO exclusive His Dark Materials (including stars Dafne Keen, Ruth Wilson, and Lin-Manuel Miranda) will appear in a panel to discuss the first season and perhaps reveal some news for a second season as well.

When: 23 July 2020 at 1pm-2pm PST (24 July 2020 at 4am-5am GMT+8)

The Boys Season 2

The Boys Season 2 (1)

Amazon Prime Video exclusive The Boys will be returning soon, as the entire cast, as well as executive producers Seth Rogen and Evan Goldberg, will appear in a panel to discuss about the upcoming second season.

When: 23 July 2020 at 3pm-4pm PST (24 July 2020 at 6am-7am GMT+8)

Charlize Theron: Evolution of a Badass – An Action Hero Career Retrospective

Comic-Con 2020 5

It’s an hour-long panel featuring none other than the badass Charlize Theron herself.

When: 24 July 2020 at 10am-11am PST (25 July 2020 at 1am-2am GMT+8)

Lucasfilm Publishing: Stories From a Galaxy Far, Far Away

Star Wars The High Republic 7 (1)

Not much of the Star Wars franchise will be at Comic-Con 2020 At Home, but this panel assembles a bunch of Star Wars authors to talk about their upcoming books, which will touch on the new High Republic era of the franchise.

When: 24 July 2020 at 1pm-2pm PST (25 July 2020 at 4am-5am GMT+8)

AMC’s The Walking Dead

Comic-Con 2020 6

The fan-favourite The Walking Dead panel returns as well, as cast and crew are set to appear in a panel.

When: 24 July 2020 at 1pm-2pm PST (25 July 2020 at 4am-5am GMT+8)

AMC’s The Walking Dead: World Beyond

Comic-Con 2020 7

This panel will finally reveal the third series (or second spinoff) of The Walking Dead franchise.

When: 24 July 2020 at 2pm-3pm PST (25 July 2020 at 5am-6am GMT+8)

First Look at Hulu’s Helstrom

Comic-Con 2020 8

This panel will focus on Hulu and Marvel’s upcoming Helstrom series.

When: 24 July 2020 at 3pm-4pm PST (25 July 2020 at 6am-7am GMT+8)

A Zoom with Joss Whedon

Comic-Con 2020 9

The Avengers director Joss Whedon, folks.

When: 24 July 2020 at 5pm-6pm PST (25 July 2020 at 8am-9am GMT+8)

Constantine: 15th Anniversary Reunion

Comic-Con 2020 10

Keanu Reeves will join director Francis Lawrence and producer Akiva Goldsman to discuss the 2005 Constantine live-action movie, which was actually decent.

When: 25 July 2020 at 12pm-1pm PST (26 July 2020 at 3am-4am GMT+8)

Guillermo del Toro and Scott Cooper on Antlers and Filmmaking

Pacific Rim director Guillermo Del Toro discusses the latest movie that he produces.

When: 25 July 2020 at 1pm-2pm PST (26 July 2020 at 4am-5am GMT+8)

Bill & Ted Face the Music

Keanu Reeves, Alex Winter, William Sadler; writers Ed Solomon and Chris Matheson; director Dean Parisot, series newcomers Samara Weaving and Brigette Lundy-Paine are all appearing in a panel moderated by Kevin Smith for the upcoming third movie of the cult classic series.

When: 25 July 2020 at 3pm-4pm PST (26 July 2020 at 6am-7am GMT+8)

Peacock Original Series: Brave New World

Based on the 1932 classic novel by Aldous Huxley, Brave New World is a new streaming service Peacock exclusive.

When: 25 July 2020 at 3pm-4pm PST (26 July 2020 at 6am-7am GMT+8)

HBO’s Lovecraft Country

The full cast, as well as showrunner and executive producer Misha Green, will appear in a panel to discuss the new period supernatural HBO exclusive show.

When: 25 July 2020 at 4pm-5pm PST (26 July 2020 at 7am-8am GMT+8)

Scary Good TV: A Conversation with Horror’s Top Showrunners

Netflix Locke And Key

The showrunners of horror shows like Locke & Key, Creepshow, NOS4A2, Channel Zero, and the upcoming Chucky series are assembling in this panel.

When: 25 July 2020 at 6pm-7pm PST (26 July 2020 at 9am-10am GMT+8)

A Conversation with Nathan Fillion

World Premiere of "Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2" - Arrivals, Los Angeles, USA - 19 Apr 2017

Nathan Fillion is getting his own panel, with expected guest appearances by Joss Whedon, Alan Tudyk, Gina Torres, Mekia Cox, Molly Quinn, Seamus Dever, and Jon Huertas. It’s an unofficial Firefly reunion.

When: 26 July 2020 at 2pm-3pm PST (27 July 2020 at 5am-6am GMT+8)


 

Leave a Reply