Half Of Final Fantasy XIV Is Entirely Free To Play

It took about 7 years to reach this point, but it’s damn well worth the wait, F2P MMO fans!

Square Enix’s current online multiplayer money-maker Final Fantasy XIV is now offering an incredibly packed and generous Free Trial mode starting 11th August. Here are the most noteworthy changes:

  • Level cap raised to 60.
  • The game is free up to Heavensward (through Patch 3.56).
  • Dark Knight, Astrologian, and Machinist are available next to the other 10 free classes.
  • Au Ra race now playable alongside the Hyur, Elezen, Lalafell, Miqo’te, and Roegadyn.
  • A Realm Reborn/Starter Edition copies to be upgraded with the above.

The game’s in-game currency and marketplace restrictions are still in place though. Still, that’s a lot of free content for players who want to dip their toes into FFXIV before committing full-time to it, right?

FFXIV is currently available for PC and PS4.

Author: Mr Toffee

Mr Toffee is a writer, editor, & all-around video game words guy for 9 years, give or take. He also did some story for games like Chain Chronicle and some podcasting on the side. Likes: bacon, Metallica, jogging. Hates: raccoons, oblivion. Twitter: @MrToffee

Leave a Reply