Blizzard Outlines New Path For Aspiring Overwatch Pros

Blizzard has announced that Activision Blizzard Esports is teaming up with AKG Games to bring the Overwatch ACE 2020 Championship, which is open exclusively to players from Southeast Asia as well as India and Japan.

The Southeast Asian countries eligible for the tournament include:

  • Indonesia
  • Macao
  • Timor-Leste
  • Malaysia
  • Lao People’s Democratic Republic
  • Myanmar
  • Philippines
  • Singapore
  • Thailand
  • Viet Nam
  • Taiwan
  • Hong Kong

The Overwatch ACE 2020 Championship will be a tournament to profile emerging Overwatch teams from Asia and take place on 22 August 2020 (GMT+8). It is part of Blizzard’s commitment to enhance Overwatch esports communities in the Pacific region.

Three teams from Overwatch Contenders Pacific Season 1 will be invited to play as group stage seeds, including A-BANG from Taiwan (formerly known as Lord of Dragon Esports), Far East Society from Singapore, and Japanese team FortuNa (formerly known as D81 FortuNa).

They will battle with other newcomer teams advancing from the Qualifier for a US$100,000 prize pool.

You can sign up today for the Qualifier here before 17 August 2020.

The Qualifier on 22 August 2020 is in a single-elimination format where the top five teams will advance to the Regular Season and compete with the three seed teams mentioned above.

Highlights from the Qualifiers and the Regular Season will be made available online. The Playoffs of Overwatch ACE will feature the best four teams from the Regular Season and will be streamed on 3 and 4 October 2020.

You can check out the live broadcast on the English ChannelMandarin channel and Thai channel.


Author: Alleef Ashaari

Aspiring writer. Born in Amsterdam, raised in Malaysia. Comics are my passion. A gamer and science fiction enthusiast. PSN: AlleefAshaari

Leave a Reply