Shin Megami Tensei 5 Video Spotlights Country-Specific Bethel Demons & “Safety” Mode

Atlus’ latest Shin Megami Tensei 5 video feature shines the spotlight on the Bethel Demons in different countries, as well as the game’s plethora of difficulty options.

Bethel Demons From Each Country

The video feature highlights the different Bethel demons running each country’s branches. Quoted text below are the translations from the video.

  • Khonsu, from the Bethel Egypt Branch – “See for yourself the Creator’s ‘almighty’ handiwork.” “See how the earth’s inhabitants lament their injustices and buckle under misfortune.”
  • Vasuki, from the Bethel India Branch – “I shall be filling in as Lord Shiva’s proxy.”
  • Zeus, from the Bethel Greece Branch – “Bah! I’m sick of hearing babble from that winged wench and her automatons.”
  • Odin, from the Bethel North Europe Branch – “But wait, are you not a Nahobino? How could you have broken the shackles that bind us?”

Traversing Da’at

This segment of the video details the game’s shopkeeper, Gustave the master of the Cadaver’s Hollow. You can buy items from him or sell off your own loot from battles & whatnot.

Travelling across Da’at requires you to use leylines, which can also be used to save your game data. You can also access Gustave’s services through these leylines.

The world of Da’at isn’t that hospitable as it’ll feature a myriad of enemies to do turn-based combat against. You’ll even find powerful enemies like Abscess; you’ll engage in a tougher battle than usual, but the rewards include new Miracles for your Nabihino protagonist.

Demons like Amanozako can end up being your quest navigator, spotting hidden treasure all across the area you’re currently in. Other friendlier demons can also give you sidequests in return for sweet rewards, Miracles, and loot.

Difficulty Settings

Shin Megami Tensei 5 will have three difficulty settings: Casual, Normal, and Hard. All three modes are available at the beginning of the game. You can switch between Casual and Normal during your playthrough, but you cannot switch out of Hard mode if it’s selected at the start.

In addition, the game features a fourth difficulty mode: Safety. It’ll be available as free DLC and is basically easier than Casual difficulty.

Shin Megami Tensei 5 will be out on Nintendo Switch this 11th November.

Author: Mr Toffee

Mr Toffee is a writer, editor, & all-around video game words guy for 9 years, give or take. He also did some story for games like Chain Chronicle and some podcasting on the side. Likes: bacon, Metallica, jogging. Hates: raccoons, oblivion. Twitter: @MrToffee

Leave a Reply